My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

chooks, hens or chickens?

King George and his trip to the vet

22 Comments

 

DSC_0032

We did manage to get KingGeorge into the cage.

After a few failed attempts at catching him, we decided to put some of his favourite treats into the cage and hope that he would just walk in. The cage opens fully at one end.

And yes, that is exactly what George did. He saw me sprinkle the treats on the cage floor and he wandered in and started to eat. I was behind him to shut the door.

King George behaved himself in the car and at the vets but unfortunately he is not with us anymore. I made the decision to have him humanely put down as he had a tumour on his spine and would not have recovered. At least now he is not in pain.

So for someone who did not like roosters and never wanted one, I am really sad at the passing of George. He was so gentle and caring of his girls and would eat out of my hand when I offered him treats.

I guess Jonathan Livingstone will take over the running of the flock now that King George has gone.

 

22 thoughts on “King George and his trip to the vet

  1. So sorry to hear about King George. I am pretty attached to my chickens and I know it will hit me hard to lose any of them.

  2. So sorry to hear this. But I am glad you were able to help him not to have to suffer through the illness and ultimately death that would come. It was a gift you gave him to not have to endure that.

  3. So sorry to hear that King George is no longer with us…I am sure you made the right decision and he did not suffer, but it is still hard. hugs, Patti

  4. I’m so sorry. It’s really hard to watch a living thing in your care become unwell. You were good to him, he had a good life and his suffering was minimised.

  5. I’m so very sorry. Rest in peace, King George. You wore your crown well.

  6. Oh poor George, and poor you.
    It is never an easy decision, even when it is the right one – as this certainly was.
    Big hugs to you
    XO

  7. Sorry to hear the news. He didn’t look well in that last photo. You did the best for him although it’s not easy. I had to have one of my hens put down a few months ago and still miss her. She was the only one who would eat out of my hand.

    • I would hate to lose Hilda. She loves eating out of my hand. In fact she prefers her scratch food out of my hand rather than eating with the others (but then she is the bottom of the pecking order so loves the special attention I give her). So I can imagine hoe you feel.
      King George used to eat out of my hand too. 😃

  8. So sorry. We buried Miny a few days ago. I’ve been meaning to write a post about it , but haven’t yet.
    Ed

    • Sorry to you too.
      I thought of you and Jack when I lost George. I remember you telling me that having a rooster was a good thing and not a bad thing. I remember not believing you at the start but I was thinking just after losing George, how right you were. If Jonathan hadn’t come to my place from “who knows where”, I would definitely be looking for another rooster.
      Thank you for your support and caring.

  9. Such a sad read. Losing a chook is a terrible thing. Know that a bunch of us are thinking about you and your little flock.

    • I feel strangely happy that he is gone as I used to hate seeing him looking so sad and droopy. I know we did the right thing but I wish we hadn’t had to.
      Thank you for your kind comment.

  10. Pingback: I need some new chickens to boost my egg production | My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

  11. Pingback: Have my new Plymouth Barred Rock chickens settled | My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

  12. Pingback: My chickens do not go broody so I bought an incubator | My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

Leave a Reply

