My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

chooks, hens or chickens?

In case you were wondering

21 Comments

I have had backyard hens and my “chook” blog since 2012 and have loved every minute if it. Yes, both the hens and the blog.

In November 2013, my husband’s daughter and her 7 month old baby came to live with us, joined by her partner a few months later. I was struggling to manage my life and all of the additional stress that came with it.

Early one weekend morning in April, when I was lying there panicking and almost in tears, thinking of all the things I had to do that day, I made a very difficult decision to close two of my three blogs down. My blogs are a big part of my life and require energy and love and lots of time. If energy, love and time is not able to be given, then as far as I was concerned, I was not able to continue for myself or my readers.

A few more months have now passed and we have one less person living in the house. (We still have mum and baby, who is now a 15 month old toddler).  For some reason in the past few weeks, the grey fog that was surrounding me has lifted. Maybe I have come to terms with my new life, or maybe my tiny flock of backyard chooks has helped to lift me.

We are past the shortest day here in New Zealand and my chooks have started laying again and King George, my magnificent rooster, has most of his feathers and his mojo back.

When I closed my blogs down, I made them private. I did not delete them. I am sorry to my readers that I didn’t put up a post to explain what I was doing. I am now ready to start blogging again about my tiny flock but forgive me if the posts are a bit few and far between. I realise I would have lost most of my readers but maybe they will see my posts and start to come back.

21 thoughts on “In case you were wondering

  1. Still here and thrilled you’re back. I too took a break. I absolutely understand how blogging can be so rewarding yet quite a drain as well. Post when it suits you not when you think you owe us. I’m sure I’m not alone in having set up you blog to send me an email when you post so I’ll always know when you’re around.

    BTW, fantastic photo at the top of your blog today. Poor King George looks decidedly unhappy with that rain. He and his harem know you’re inside where it’s dry and they are trying to storm the bastions!

    My rooster, Lenny, has his beautiful feathers back but only one of his 4 girls is laying – she never stopped. We still have freezing nights and I guess the days aren’t quite long enough to motivate the girls who are 2 and 3 years old so really past their prime.

    I look forward to the next post.

    • I have just spent a wonderful 30 minutes in the car on the way to work catching up on your blog. It felt good. Thank you for starting your blog again. I had read your new beginning post in November but had not realised you had started again in May. That was in the midst of my fog.
      Thank you for staying with me and for your lovely comment.

  2. I have enjoyed your blog very much, but I know how it is when the posts become scanty, and you just don’t have the time or the words. I feel that way a lot. Glad to know things are better your way. I didn’t know you had other blogs. Will you share them?

    • Thanks so much. Yes, when you don’t have the time or the words! That couldn’t be more true. I am so happy to be back.

    • Actually, just realised I didn’t answer your question regarding the other two blogs. One is a knitting blog showing the things I knit for my grandchildren to have a record of the things I have made. http://knanaknits.wordpress.com/
      The second was blog was to help me through having to go gluten free after being diagnosed with Coeliac Disease in October 2010. This was my first blog and helped me come to terms with being dragged kicking and screaming into the gluten free world. This blog will not reappear as the content tends to go out of date but I refer to it as I have many recipes on it. 

      • How fun! Your knitting is beautiful and so are your grandchildren. I have been starting to knit again and learning how to knit socks right now…
        http://wovenwithherhands.wordpress.com/

        Just met a wonderful lady whose husband has Celiac, and she shared with me how incredible his recovery was since he stopped eating gluten 6 years ago. She made us some amazing cookies from almond flour. A hard transition, but it sounds like it is well worth it.

    • Thanks you for the link to your craft blog. And thanks for your kind comments re mine. 🙂
      And yes, going gluten free has been worth the sadness of losing all that delicious gluteny food.

  3. Heeeeeey!!! I am soooooooo happy you are back… I miss you!!! Xoxo C

    • 🙂 I still miss you guys EVERY day. Particularly during this tough time, I was wishing we had our old life back when you were here. At least you would have made me feel better about our situation and we would have turned it into laughs! Xx

  4. Glad to see you back. I love following the exploits of other people’s chickens. Hope you keep it going.

  5. So nice to see you back. I completely understand…I find myself blogging less frequently as well…..life has cycles and things weave their way in and out…blog when you can and keep it fun. I am looking forward to again hearing about all of the adventures of King George and his flock!

    • Yes, cycles and waves. I am glad my chicken wave is back. They are giving me such renewed pleasure. I can’t wait for it to get lighter here as Winter ends and then they will be still up when I get home from work.
      Just checking out your blog, your garden makes me feel like putting more effort into mine this Spring. Maybe with more people living in my house, maybe one of them might offer to help me set one up!

  6. Welcome back, wondered were you went. Thought you were mad at us. Life does get in the way sometimes and so does family. I’m taking a blogging break myself and a garden break this year. I have the most beautiful patch of weeds growing in my garden. As for the people living in your home helping with the garden…………..my monies on the 15 month old.

    hugs, Ed

  7. Hi Ed,
    So pleased to see you. I would never get mad with my blog friends. I love your posts and comments. Thank you for still being here even though you are taking a blogging break.
    I agree, I think the chickens and the toddler will be the only ones “helping” 🙂

  8. BIENVENIDA! Welcome back! I missed you and all the joy from reading your blog. I agree it’s also necessary and healthy to take time off once in a while, and let things settle down on their own. So glad to know you’re back. Un beso

  9. Life is a busy place. It is hard to prioritize things by importance rather than enjoyment. We have 5 new chicks who are almost fully adults now yet I have not had time to write one word or post one photo of them on my blog. Glad to have you back and looking forward to more stories. :o)

    • Thank you so much. It is very difficult isn’t it but I feel slightly more in control of my life again, thank goodness. I look forward to your first post n your new frown up chicks but no pressure of course!

  10. <<<<<>>>>
    I have been trying to summon the strength to email you.
    The terrible fog is lifting here too
    So good to have you feeling more peaceful
    XXX

  11. Pingback: I need some new chickens to boost my egg production | My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

Leave a Reply

