My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

chooks, hens or chickens?

To sell or not to sell the chicks

11 Comments

The master plan for growing my brood of chickens from three to a maximum of eight (which my husband agreed to when we bought the bigger coop but has since forgotten the conversation), was to hatch a batch (or is that a clutch) of eggs each time my bantam went broody. I would then keep one of the girls from the hatch each time and sell the remainder. In this way, it would take a few years to get to my maximum number of chickens and it would give me time between broodiness to decide on the breed for the next hatch, while watching the new chicks grow.

My last (and only) hatched batch (or clutch) are now fourteen weeks old. I have three girls and two boys. The plan was to keep all of the chicks until the girls started laying and then I would keep one (Hazel with the crooked toe) and sell the other four. I decided if I kept them until the girls were laying, I might have more chance of selling the four of them as pairs. That way the boys may get a chance of surviving and living a happy life.

I say that was my plan because Hannah Hen went broody again far too quickly. (Only two weeks after she abandoned the chicks at ten weeks old). The maternity coop which I would need to move Hannah into, still had the chicks living in it. So the easiest thing (after weighing up a number of options) was to sell my four chicks early. But I was not ready to let my chicks go. I wanted to see my baby girls lay their first egg. I wanted to see what the magnificent boys looked like as fully grown bantam roosters. I wanted to enjoy the chicks for a couple more months.

But I knew how to go about selling them and that was to list them on the Trademe website, which is New Zealand’s equivalent to Ebay. So the first thing I had to do was to follow the chicks around and take some photos. The photos had to have the chicks looking as magnificent or as cute as they could, so I could entice a nice owner into buying them. At least I could take the photos. I didn’t have to list them just yet.

DSC_0049

Here they all are innocently sitting together not realising they were posing for their Trademe photographs.

DSC_0007

Here are the boys on their own so that the first person to want one of the pairs could see the boys colouring and choose which one they wanted.  I know it is not the best photo to show off their colouring but I had only just started taking photos. I was going to spend much of the weekend getting the right photos for  their prospective buyers. But this is as far as I got.

The mite drama and Hannah Hen being driven off her broody nest suddenly took precedence over getting the chicks to pose for photographs.

I feel terribly sorry that mites attacked Hannah Hen. It was obviously not very pleasant. But at least I can now keep my chicks for longer.

11 thoughts on “To sell or not to sell the chicks

  1. No way could I sell an animal I’d raised from a baby. I’d have to keep moving to bigger and bigger properties as they bred me out of house and home. You’re tough (but really rather soft) and I’m glad you get these extra weeks with your little chicks.

  2. They are so beautiful! Wish I lived close by – I’d buy them.

  3. Well they couldnt have had a bettet stary to life. X

  4. Thanks so much for your comments.

  5. Husbands aren’t the only ones who forget conversations.
    Ed

  6. Pingback: My teenage roosters have started their sexual shenanigans | My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

  7. Pingback: My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks, TBN’s Featured Blog in a Series | TBN Ranch

  8. Pingback: Did I find a new home for my rooster and hen chicks? | My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

Leave a Reply

