My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

chooks, hens or chickens?

A hen in my house

15 Comments

DSC_0004_4033

My mum let those pesky chicks out again with their bossy mother, Hannah Hen!

I have tried to be good today and not annoy those pesky chicks too much, especially when my mum is watching. Last time they were out, that bossy Hannah Hen attacked me every time I went near one of those pesky chicks. I was only trying to give them a peck to make sure they understood who was boss.

But today as I say, I have tried to be good. Early in the afternoon I came up from the bush and my mum was sitting outside so I put on my wistful, cute look and she went ย inside and got me some treats from the purple tin.ย Bossy Hannah and her chicks were still down in the bush so my mum scattered my treats around for me and Hilda (I have to share with that Hilda as she ย is my sister and she follows me around everywhere) and then my mum went back inside to put the treat tin away.

Well, that bossy Hannah Hen and her pesky chicks must have heard me and Hilda pecking away madly, as next thing I knew, there she was with those pesky chicks, glaring at me and wanting my treats. So I went inside the house to get my mum to tell her that bossy Hannah Hen and those pesky chicks were eating my treats. That’ll fix them. She will come out and growl them.

How indignant do I feel! When she saw me inside she growled at ME! She chased me outside and then had the audacity to follow me out and then talk sweet nothings to those pesky chicks. Doesn’t matter that I missed out on MY treats.

15 thoughts on “A hen in my house

  1. I assume you left the door open because you wanted your chickens to come in and fertilise the carpets, there’s no other explanation for your behaviour. Or maybe you’re hoping they learn how to get to the purple treat tin without you having to fetch it for them? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. You should write a children’s book…seriously! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. She looks like she’s giving you that look… ๐Ÿ™‚ Love your new header photo!

  4. Cheeky Chooky! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Thanks for the replies everyone, I just hope she doesn’t fertilise the carpet.
    The new header photo is two of my girl chicks going for a walk.

  6. Sooo funny….you should write a children’s book!!!!

    p.s…..I love all the “H” names, including your husbands and daughters!

    • ๐Ÿ™‚ I am running out of H’s now. Not sure what I will do with the next lot of chicks.

      • Oh no, you can’t run out of H’s. Surely a couple of internet searches will restock your supply of H names.is a big help here. Isn’t H a big letter in Scandanavian names? Have you used Heidi yet?

      • But you see what I haven’t told you yet is that all of the H names are named after family. (Or in one case, Hedvig, which has a slightly different story, two stories actually.) So next time I will need to decide on random H names or choose other family names with other letters. I guess I have a wee while to decide before the next broody hen and batch of chicks.
        It all started with my husband naming Hannah Hen after my daughter whose name is Hannah. I think I will do a post on the naming one day and get some help with what people think I should do next.

  7. I agree, do write, books for children, for adults, for anyone!

  8. Pingback: I have forgiven Helen Hen | My Tiny Brood of Backyard Chooks

Leave a Reply

